Standards for Flooding – Resistance & Resilience

This page outlines some of the relevant standards that relate to construction and flood resilience. These standards will directly relate to the repair or construction of buildings in relation to ensuring that these best protect homes and businesses from damage in the event of flooding.

This standards list is regularly updated and the links will allow you to access more information about each of these:

This freely available standard produced by CIRIA (Construction Industry Research and Information Association) is a guide produced in partnership by BRE and CIRIA. This standard outlines the quality that buildings should be repaired to following a flood event.

The guide contains illustrations of damage, surveys, drying and decontamination, and repair work to buildings. Appendices include guidance to homeowners, technical information, key organisations that can advise on flooding and information on the provision of insurance.

This standard can be downloaded below:

CIRIA C623 – Standards for the repair of buildings following flooding

For more information about this document or to purchase a hard copy, please click here.

BS 8533 gives guidance on appropriate assessment and management approaches to flood risk where UK development has proposed. This guidance document has been prepared for developers and local authority (or other regulatory party), to explain how to deal with flood risk. This should be used after initial planning but prior to any development. This standard should assist the user in analysing their flood risk and what the most suitable solution is.

The BS 8533 standard brings together flood risk management guidance from the UK government as well as advice from additional organisations. This will then provide the user with recommendations that will assist in planning applications. The standard and further information is available online here.

This standard is a BS (British Standard) and also an EN (European Standard) designed to assess anti flood devices for buildings. This is split into three separate parts:

  • BS EN 13564-1:2002 – Anti flooding devices for buildings: Requirements
  • BS EN 13564-2:2002 – Anti flooding devices for buildings:  Test Methods
  • BS EN 13564-3:2003 – Anti flooding devices for buildings: Quality Assurance

To view more details and access these documents, please click here for part 1 – Requirements; for part 2 on test methods, please click here; and for quality assurance and part 3 please click here. These document all work in tandem to establish a minimum standard for anti-flood devices for the built environment.

This BSI standard applies to all properties across all new and existing buildings within UK territories despite any regional differences.

This is done through two main ways:

  • Minimising flooding and other environmental risks – this is reduced through assessment of site surface water run off on development sites as well as my assessing surface water runoff from other sources).
  • Maximising social and environmental benefits – this will be accomplished through the enhancement of local water resources by utilising surface water runoff, as well as repairing and protecting its biodiversity; integrating surface water management systems to not only mitigate against the problems of urbanisation; and through integrating these with landscaping and community character).

This standard can be accessed through the BSI website here.

This standards accounts for when damage is done to a property as a result of a crime or accident (including flooding). This allows for quick and effective response. Generic processes are indicated on this page rather than specific guidance for each hazard or incident individually.

To help guide your response actions, the standard covers:

  • A method of establishing whether these activities have been completed to a satisfactory standard
  • A guide for communication between different parties aware of an incident’s status
  • Best practice methods to stabilise, mitigate and restore damage to the property

To view the document and for further information, please see the BSI (British Standards Institution) website here.

The standard deals with ground water assessment, drainage and associated risk assessments and buildings partly, and fully, below ground as well as both deep and shallow basements. ‘Shallow structures’ are described as being only one storey below ground, and ‘deep structures’ describe basements more than one storey below ground level.

This covers:

  • Waterproofing barrier materials applied to the structure
  • Structurally integral watertight construction
  • Drained cavity construction

This standard can be accessed here. The Property Care Association have also prepared guidance notes for this standard which can be found here.

Another standard that will apply for flood resilience is BS 85500:2015 – Flood Resilient Construction. This standard gives flood resilience guidance for designers of properties, by advising on suitable materials and details for construction. This document is designed to help provide resilient solutions to all sources of flooding.

The main focus points of this standard are:

  • Areas on a building where flood resilience and resistance measures are applicable.
  • Reducing the impacts of flooding from various sources
  • Promoting the use of suitable materials and construction techniques

The standard was originally designed for a target audience of architects, local authorities and engineers. It is applicable to various different property scenarios of property, including retrofitting of existing properties, extensions and also new builds. More information and access to purchase this document is available online here. A free core information version of this document is available here.

The British Standards Institution (BSI) have developed their BSI Kitemark logo to demonstrate their quality of assurance of flood products and services through testing against their standard PAS 1188:2014 – Flood Protection Products. This standard was established to help give flood-affected property owners a reliable and trusted seal of approval to use in order to protect their assets from future events. A new specification of the standard was released in 2014, requiring for lower leakage from the certified product. The product that is to be certified must be independently witness tested and meet a minimum criteria in order to attain the standard. This is often done either annually following the initial testing or more than once a year.

There are 4 product areas covered by the standard:

  • PAS 1188-1:2014 – Flood Protection products. Part 1: Building aperture products
  • PAS 1188-2:2014 – Flood Protection products. Part 2: Temporary and demountable flood protection products
  • PAS 1188-3:2014 – Flood protection products. Part 3: Buildings & building skirt systems
  • PAS 1188-4:2014 – Flood protection products. Part 4: Demountable products

In addition to this, installers of these products can also be certified. Property surveys and installation services of the Kitemarked products have a separate scheme and have to meet certain requirements but can also be certified by BSI. This Kitemark holder is then regularly audited in order to ensure that minimum compliance standards are being met.  The PAS 1188:2015 standard is available for purchase through the BSI website, along with more information about the content of the document.


Are we missing something? Get in touch with us as and we can review additional standards that may be relevant.